ROPE – Installation & Performance by Ief Spincemaille

ROPE - a social sculpture by Belgian visual artist Ief Spincemaille presented at POP KUDAMM May 12 - 14, 2022.

Handmade, based on the ancient tradition of wickerwork, ROPE travels the world with Ief Spincemaille, creating a tension between the reality it finds on the ground and that it creates anew, through its temporary presence in local communities.

60 meters long. 28 centimeters thick. 196 kilograms strong. Rope is too big to be used as a rope. Nevertheless, its purpose is ” to be used “, finding new function and meaning on its journeys.
As a social sculpture, ROPE is always multi-functional, generating new dynamics and energies, and creating communication and interaction with its environment. ROPE is an invitation. To observe. To question. To play and linger. To bind.

On its travels, ROPE writes a diary in which it captures everything it experiences locally.

From May 12 to 14, ROPE will take a stop at various locations in Berlin as part of the BNDNWK, as well as in the evenings during the Open Studio Nights at POP KUDAMM. Experience ROPE on his way and follow him through the city in the Stories on POP KUDAMM Instagram.

ABOUT THE ARTIST

Ief Spincemaille is a Belgian visual artist and researcher. His work focuses on the exploration of human perceptual horizons. In his installations, visual works and performances, he explores the boundaries between the measurable/familiar and the immeasurable/foreign. His work combines art and social interaction that is not limited to a single medium.

www.iefspincemaille.com
www.rope.blue

CREDITS

Concept & Realization: Ief Spincemaille
Technical Assistance: Bout De Beul
Textile Research: Leila Boukhalfa, Charlotte Stuby, Jan Duerinck
Graphic Design Flyer: Eva Moullaert, with many thanks to Guido Devadder
Images: Vincent Noir

ROPE – Installation & Performance by Ief Spincemaille

ROPE – eine soziale Skulptur des belgischen bildenden Künstlers Ief Spincemaille präsentiert bei POP KUDAMM vom 12. – 14. Mai 2022

Handgefertigt, in alter Tradition des Flechthandwerks, reist ROPE mit Ief Spincemaille um die Welt und schafft ein Spannungsfeld zwischen der Realität, die es vor Ort findet und die es, durch seine vorübergehende Präsenz in lokalen Communities, neu gestaltet.

60 m lang. 28 cm dick. 196 kg schwer. Rope ist zu groß, um als Seil verwendet zu werden. Dennoch ist seine Bestimmung der „Gebrauch“, mit neuer Funktion und Bedeutung, die es auf seinen Reisen erfährt.

Als social sculpture ist ROPE multi-funktional, die immer neue Dynamiken und Energien erzeugt und Kommunikation und Interaktion mit seiner Umgebung schafft. ROPE lädt ein. Zum Betrachten. Zum Fragen. Zum Spielen und Verweilen. Zum Verbinden.

Auf seinen Reisen schreibt ROPE ein Tagebuch, in dem es alles festhält, was es vor Ort erlebt.

Vom 12. bis 14. Mai macht ROPE Station in Berlin und sucht in live Performances – zusammen mit Ief Spincemaille – die Interaktion mit Plätzen und Menschen an verschiedenen Orten der Stadt. Im Rahmen der Open Studio Nights werden bei POP KUDAMM zudem Ausschnitte seiner ROPE Collection gezeigt. Erlebe ROPE bei POP KUDAMM und folge ROPE durch Berlin in den Stories auf POP KUDAMM Instagram.

ABOUT THE ARTIST

Ief Spincemaille ist ein belgischer bildender Künstler und Forscher. Im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit steht die Erkundung der menschlichen Wahrnehmungshorizonte. In seinen Installationen, visuelle Arbeiten und Performances erkundet er die Grenzen zwischen Messbarem/Vertrautem und dem Unmessbaren/Fremden. Seine Arbeit verbindet Kunst und soziale Interaktion, die nicht auf ein einziges Medium beschränkt ist.

www.iefspincemaille.com
www.rope.blue

CREDITS

Konzept & Realisierung: Ief Spincemaille
Technische Unterstützung: Bout De Beul
Textilforschung: Leila Boukhalfa, Charlotte Stuby, Jan Duerinck
Grafikdesign Flyer: Eva Moullaert, mit großem Dank an Guido Devadder
Foto: Vincent Noir