Next Generation City Planning

Spatial knowledge of children and young people in the planning | Exhibition by Technical University Berlin.

Exhibition Times
Wednesday – Saturday, 12:00 – 20:00

Urban transformation is becoming increasingly dynamic. Pressing questions on climate resilience, sustainability, mobility and cultural change are now being widely discussed and explored in urban planning.

This urban development process is always intended for next generations. However, these come with new needs and capabilities. This exhibition is therefore dedicated to the ‘spatial knowledge of children and young people’. The research work provids scientific findings in a large-scale evaluation of studies and own analyses, which not only can anticipate the questions for future urban planning, but can also substantiate them. These questions must now be answered by urban developments.

The exhibition addresses the following areas on different levels:

PARTICIPATION

How can and is the spatial knowledge of children and young people integrated into urban development?

NATIVES vs. LEARNERS

Digital natives have decisively different experiences and skills compared to today’s urban planners. How can we learn from them?

HYBRID REALITY

On- and offline spaces are merging into a new spatial experience – not theoretically, but as a reality for the younger generations. What does this mean for urban planning?

TRANSLOCAL KNOWLEDGE

Today, spatial knowledge no longer needs to be experienced on location. How does this have an impact on urban planning?

PUBLIC SPACE

Public space is much more than ‘not private’. What are the expectations of the next generations for such places?

The exhibition is based on the research work of Prof. De. Angela Million and her team in the collaborative research center ‘Re-Figuration of Spaces’ at the Technical University of Berlin, funded by the German research foundation DFG.

In a series of texts and images the questions to urban development are formulated associatively – as an example and inspiration that we should consider. In addition, international projects are presented in which children and young people are integrated into urban development.

The TU Berlin and POP KUDAMM want to stimulate and broaden the discourse and the horizon of urban development and invite all interested people and of course all Berlin urban developers to take on these questions.

– – – – –

ORGANIZATIONAL NOTES

For the safety of our guests and employees and to continue the containment of the coronavirus, all our events are held in compliance with the general legal regulations. No 3G-e proof is required for participation and face masks are not mandatory. However, we still recommend wearing mouth-to-nose protection and adhering to the general pandemic-related AHA etiquette.

Photographs and video footage will be taken during our events and may be used for press and marketing purposes across POP KUDAMM channels. As a guest, you will generally only be recognizable as part of a group in the photos and footage. You can object to the use by POP KUDAMM at any time. For this purpose, a short message to dennis@popkudamm.berlin is required. In this case, we will delete the photo or film recording or pixelate your image. Otherwise, the use is not limited in time. The legal basis for processing the photos and film recordings is our legitimate interest in reporting on the respective event. Except for posting on social media channels, no disclosure of your data to third parties will take place. In addition to your right to object, you have the right of information, rectification, deletion, restriction of processing, as well as the right to have your personal data made available in a transferable format. Furthermore, you can complain to a competent data protection supervisory authority at any time. You can reach the data protection officer of SIGNA Holding GmbH at datenschutz@signa.at.

Next Generation City Planning

Raumwissen von Kindern und Jugendlichen in der Stadtplanung | Eine Ausstellung der TU Berlin | 12.05. - 01.07.22 | POP KUDAMM

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN
Mittwoch bis Samstag 12:00 – 20:00 Uhr

Die urbane Transformation wird immer dynamischer. Drängende Fragestellungen zur Klimaresilienz, Nachhaltigkeit, Mobilität und kulturellen Veränderungen werden in der Stadtplanung inzwischen breit diskutiert und erprobt. 

Dieser Entwicklungsprozess der Stadt ist immer für die nächsten Generationen gedacht. Jedoch haben diese neue Bedürfnisse und Fähigkeiten. Die Ausstellung widmet sich somit dem ‚Raumwissen von Kindern und Jugendlichen‘. Die zugrunde liegende Forschungsarbeit hat in einer breit angelegten Auswertung von Studien und eigenen Analysen wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse geliefert, die die Fragen an die Stadtplanung der Zukunft nicht nur erahnen, sondern belegen kann. Diese Fragen müssen nun von der Stadtentwicklung beantwortet werden.

Die Ausstellung thematisiert auf verschiedenen Ebenen die folgenden Bereiche:

PARTICIPATION

Wie kann und wird das Raumwissen von Kindern und Jugendlichen in die Stadtentwicklung integriert?

NATIVES vs. LEARNERS

Digital Natives haben gegenüber den heutigen Stadtplaner:innen entscheidend andere Erfahrungen und Fähigkeiten. Wie können wir von Ihnen lernen?

HYBRID REALITY

On- und Offline Räume verschmelzen zu einer neuen Raumerfahrung – nicht theoretisch, sondern als Realität der jungen Generationen. Was bedeutet das für die Stadtplanung?

TRANSLOCAL KNOWLEDGE

Raumwissen muss heute nicht mehr vor Ort erfahren werden. Wie wirkt sich das auf die Stadtplanung aus?

PUBLIC SPACE

Der Öffentliche Raum ist viel mehr als ‚nicht privat‘. Welche Erwartungen haben die nächsten Generationen an solche Orte? 

Die Ausstellung basiert auf der Forschungsarbeit von Prof. Dr. Angela Million ihrem Team im Sonderforschungsbereich ‚Re-Figuration von Räumen‘ der Technischen Universität Berlin, finanziert durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG. 

In weiteren Texten und Bildern werden die Fragen an die Stadtentwicklung assoziativ formuliert – als Beispiel und Inspiration mit der wir uns beschäftigen sollten. Darüber hinaus werden internationale Projekte vorgestellt in denen Kinder und Jugendlichen in die Stadtentwicklung integriert werden.

Die TU Berlin und POP KUDAMM wollen damit den Diskurs und den Horizont der Stadtentwicklung bereichern und erweitern, und laden alle Interessierten und natürlich auch alle Berliner Stadtentwickler:innen ein, sich diesen Fragen zu stellen. 

– – – – –

ORGANISATORISCHE HINWEISE

Zum Schutz unserer Gäste und Mitarbeiter:innen und zur weiteren Eindämmung des Coronavirus finden alle unsere Veranstaltungen unter Einhaltung der allgemeinen gesetzlichen Regelungen statt. Für die Teilnahme ist kein 3G-eNachweis erforderlich und es besteht keine Maskenpflicht. Wir empfehlen jedoch weiterhin das Tragen eines Mund-Nasen-Schutzes sowie die Beachtung der allgemeinen pandemiebedingten AHA-Etikette.

Während unseres Events werden Foto- und Filmaufnahmen erstellt, die zu Presse- und Marketingzwecken in den POP KUDAMM Kanälen verwendet werden können. Als Gast sind Sie auf den Fotos und Filmaufnahmen in der Regel nur als Teil einer Gruppe zu erkennen. Sie können der Nutzung durch POP KUDAMM jederzeit widersprechen. Hierzu genügt eine kurze Mitteilung an dennis@popkudamm.berlin. In diesem Fall werden wir das Foto bzw. die Filmaufnahme löschen oder ihr Bild verpixeln. Im übrigen ist die Nutzung zeitlich nicht beschränkt. Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung der Fotos und Filmaufnahmen ist unser berechtigtes Interesse an der Berichterstattung über die jeweilige Veranstaltung. Außer beim Posting auf Social-Media-Kanälen findet keine Weitergabe ihrer Daten an Dritte statt. Zusätzlich zu Ihrem Widerspruchsrecht steht Ihnen ein Recht auf Auskunft, Berichtung, Löschung, Einschränkung der Verarbeitung sowie auf Zurverfügungstellung Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten in einem übertragungsfähigen Format zu. Ferner können Sie sich jederzeit bei einer zuständigen datenschutzrechtlichen Aufsichtsbehörde beschweren. Den Datenschutzbeauftragten der SIGNA Holding GmbH erreichen Sie unter folgenden Kontaktdaten: datenschutz@signa.at.