Panel DiscussionEvent
Celebrating the Diversity of Science - Berlin Science Week
CuratedLectures & Discussions
Archive
Sun, 6-11-22
,
13:00

Celebrating the Diversity of Science

Research

Seven scientific institutes celebrate 30 years of cooperation in the Berlin Research Network at POP KUDAMM. The diverse research fields of the Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB), the Leibniz Institute of Crystal Growth (IKZ), the Paul Drude Institute for Solid State Electronics (PDI), the Weierstrass Institute for Applied Analysis and Stochastics (WIAS), the Leibniz Institute for Zoo and Wildlife Research (IZW), the Max Born Institute (MBI) and the Leibniz Research Institute for Molecular Pharmacology (FMP) allow us to have an impact on almost all areas of society. Our extraordinary research efforts show us every day how important the great diversity of research topics and approaches, management structures and leadership cultures is. We experience a great diversity of cultures, backgrounds and lifestyles in our institutes.

And that’s exactly what we want to celebrate! With elevator pitches, scientific crosstalk between fish researchers and quantum people, wild animals, crystals, pharmacological research, math and ultra-short lasers, and a good dose of fun. – Ever heard of powerpoint karaoke?

The evening will end with a concert by Saudia Young and Lars Vegas and drinks at the bar

An all-day festival of science at Pop Kudamm.

Daily Programm

15:30 Podium discussion about the source of excellent research
With: Prof. Dr. Norbert Palz, President of the University of the Arts, Prof. Dr. Thomas Schröder,
Spokesman of the Board of the Forschungsverbund Berlin, Armaghan Naghipour, State Secretary for Science, Research and Equality (requested).
Moderation: Dr. Carsten Hucho, Spokesperson of the Leibniz Association’s Knowledge Transfer Working Group.

17:30 Real or fake?
Steven Seet, Institute of Zoo and Wildlife Research, Erika Martinez Ruiz, Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries, Roman Engel-Herbert, Director of the Paul Drude Institute for Solid State Electronics.

19:30 Saudia Young and Lars Vegas.
Saudia Young is a New York City-born singer/songwriter with growling, soulful vocals and a top-notch “noir rockabilly blues” band. Young and her bandmates have been shaking up the scene with their unique sound, a combination of rhythm & blues, rockabilly and dark Americana. Based in Berlin and Europe since 2014, Young and her boys have played the streets, local pubs, weddings, rockabilly festivals, motorcycle clubs, tattoo conventions and rock clubs, including legendary Berlin clubs Wild at Heart, Bassy Cowboy Club and Road Runners Rock & Motor Club.

No registration required. Just drop by. : )

An event organized by Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V.


What's on?

Event
Celebrating the Diversity of Science - Berlin Science Week
CuratedLectures & Discussions
Archive
So, 6.11.22
,
13:00

Die Vielfalt der Wissenschaft feiern

Forschung

Sieben Wissenschaftsinstitute feiern im POP KUDAMM 30 Jahre Zusammenarbeit im Forschungsverbund Berlin. Die vielfältigen Forschungsfelder vom Leibniz-Institut für Gewässerökologie und Binnenfischerei (IGB), dem Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchtung (IKZ), dem Paul-Drude-Institut für Festkörperelektronik (PDI), dem Weierstraß-Institut für Angewandte Analysis und Stochastik (WIAS), dem Leibniz-Institut für Zoo- und Wildtierforschung (IZW), dem Max Born Institut (MBI) und dem Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie (FMP) lassen uns in nahezu alle Bereiche der Gesellschaft hineinwirken. Die außergewöhnlichen Forschungsanstrengungen zeigen uns jeden Tag, wie wichtig die große Vielfalt an Forschungsthemen und -ansätzen, Managementstrukturen und Führungskulturen ist. Wir erleben in unseren Instituten eine große Vielfalt an Kulturen, Hintergründen und Lebensentwürfen.

Und genau das wollen wir feiern! Mit Elevator-Pitches, wissenschaftlichem Crosstalk zwischen Fischforscher*innen und Quantenmenschen, Wildtieren, Kristallen, pharmakologischer Forschung, Mathe und ultrakurzen Lasern sowie einer gehörigen Portion Spaß. – Schon mal was von Powerpoint Karaoke gehört?

Der Abend wird mit einem Konzert von Saudia Young und Lars Vegas sowie Drinks an der Bar ausklingen.

Ein ganztägiges Fest der Wissenschaft am POP KUDAMM

Tagesprogramm

13:00 – Doors open

13:30 Powerpoint-Karaoke
Eine Vortragsschlacht zwischen Kristallzüchter*innen, Pharmakolog*innen und Quantenphysiker*innen

15:30 Podiumsdiskussion über die Quelle exzellenter Forschung
Mit: Prof. Dr. Norbert Palz, Präsident der Universität der Künste, Prof. Dr. Thomas Schröder, Vorstandssprecher des Forschungsverbundes Berlin, Armaghan Naghipour, Staatssekretärin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Gleichstellung (angefragt)
Moderation: Dr. Carsten Hucho, Sprecher des Arbeitskreises Wissenstransfer der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft.

17:30 Echt oder unecht?
Steven Seet, Institut für Zoo- und Wildtierforschung, Erika Martinez Ruiz, Institut für Gewässerökologie und Binnenfischerei, Roman Engel-Herbert, Direktor des Paul-Drude-Instituts für Festkörperelektronik.

19:30 Saudia Young und Lars Vegas.
Saudia Young ist eine in New York City geborene Singer/Songwriterin mit knurrendem, souligem Gesang und einer erstklassigen „Noir Rockabilly Blues“-Band. Young und ihre Bandkollegen haben mit ihrem einzigartigen Sound, einer Kombination aus Rhythm & Blues, Rockabilly und Dark Americana, die Szene aufgemischt. Seit 2014 in Berlin und Europa ansässig, haben Young und ihre Jungs auf der Straße, in lokalen Kneipen, auf Hochzeiten, Rockabilly-Festivals, Motorradclubs, Tattoo-Conventions und Rockclubs gespielt, darunter die legendären Berliner Clubs Wild at Heart, Bassy Cowboy Club und Road Runners Rock & Motor Club.

Keine Anmeldung erforderlich. Einfach vorbeikommen. : )

Eine Veranstaltung vom Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V.


What's on?